Tuition and fee policies
- Payment due date: Students must pay tuition, all fees, and prior term balances one week (7 calendar days) before the 1st day of classes. This includes the first installment of the Tuition Option Payment Plan (TOPP).
- Late payment fees:
• $200 for failure to pay by the payment due date (see #1)
• Increases to $300 for failure to pay by the 2nd Friday of classes
For payment due dates, see chart at right or Registration and Fees.
Note: separate late fees are assessed on behalf of University Residences and Dining Services.
In addition, students will be assessed:
• $100 for each class added after the 2nd Friday of classes
• $500 for initial registration after the 2nd Friday of classes
- Drop for non-payment: Students who have not paid tuition, all fees, and prior term balances by the 2nd Friday of classes will be dropped from all enrollments for non-payment.
- Re-enrollment fee: Students dropped for non-payment will be assessed a $300 fee to re-enroll in addition to any incurred late fees.
- Forfeitures and refunds: Students who drop below full time or withdraw from all classes after the first Friday of classes until the 4th Friday of the semester will forfeit a percentage of their tuition and fees depending on when the drop or withdrawal occurs within that timeframe (see chart at right). After the 4th Friday, students will forfeit all of their fees.
Ohio State believes that the expectation of both the student and the university is that the fee assessment and penalty process should be fair and equitable and have meaningful and uniformly applied consequences for those who do not register and pay in a timely manner.
All students are required to agree to a Statement of Financial Responsibility online through their Student Center prior to enrolling in courses each term. By agreeing to the terms of the statement, a student acknowledges financial responsibility related to the cost of attendance at The Ohio State University; financial responsibility to pay any additional incurred fees, fines, or penalties; and the repercussions and financial responsibility involved in the debt collections process
View more FAQs about fee payment and refund/forfeiture policies at enrollmentservices.osu.edu/fee-FAQs.html.
Tuition and fee payment schedule
||Tuition and fee payment due
||First day of classes
|| Summer 2012
||M, June 11, 2012
||M, June 18, 2012
| Autumn 2012
||W, Aug. 15, 2012*
||W, Aug. 22, 2012
| Spring 2013
||M, Dec. 31, 2012
||M, Jan. 7, 2013
| May Session/ Summer term
||M, June 3, 2013**
||M, May 6, 2013
| Summer Session 2013
||M, June 3, 2013**
||M. June 10, 2013
| Autumn 2013
||W, Aug. 14, 2013
||W, Aug. 21, 2013
* Deadline to waive Student Health Insurance, Student Legal Services.
** Tuition and fees for May Session and Summer Term are due 7 days prior to the start of the Summer Session.
Contact the Student Service Center (SSC)
Student Academic Services Building, Lobby
281 W. Lane Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-0300 | Toll-free: 800-678-6440